Reason

This is my first blog ever and why I have decided to start blogging is unbeknownst to me.  Well…maybe I’m bored or figure I have some insight to provide about the culture I have thrown myself into for almost a year now.  As I come to my year anniversary of living and teaching in South Korea I have realized that I have done very little to document what I have done this whole time.  Perhaps it is not a lot compared to other Waygook Teachers living here but I’ll put my 2 cents in this time.

I currently live in Gwangju, Kwangju, Gwangchu or howeve

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

r you want to spell in in English (it honestly doesn’t make any difference, better to know hangeul for pronounciation) and teach at a private academy, a hagwon which some believe is a deplorable job.  I love this city and it feels like the closest thing to home in Korea.  I’ve been to Busan, Daegu, Seoul, Haenam and a bunch of small towns, but Gwangju is just right like Goldilocks would say.  Not too big, not too small…not too international and not too old school Korean.  This is the main reason why I have chosen to stay another year in Gwangju.  I just don’t feel right anywhere else.  My family is not too fond of me not visiting, but the idea of paying off student debt before 25 is a very appealing thought.  I feel like I have a lot to say but I guess I should keep this intro short and then catergorize my experience/thoughts into different posts.  Maybe what my message should be is that if you have ever thought of going overseas and were unsure…don’t be.  Take the leap and come on over because I don’t think you will regret it.  It’s not right for everyone, but if you have an open mind and can go with the flow it’s a good idea.  You’ll never be the same, experience things you never expected and have memories for a life time.  Hopefully I’ll be able to show you just what life is over here with this blog.  Welcome to my world,

SW

Leave a Reply

